Eligible Countries in Erasmus+ Program

EU Member States participate fully in all actions of the Erasmus+ Programme. In addition, in accordance with article 19 of the Erasmus+ Regulation, the following third countries are associated to the programme:

  • members of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) which are members of the European Economic Area (EEA): Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein;
  • acceding countries, candidate countries and potential candidates: North Macedonia, Republic of Türkiye and Republic of Serbia;


The EU Member States and the above mentioned third countries associated to the programme will be hereafter called “EU Member States and third countries associated to the Programme”.

In addition, in accordance with article 20 of the Regulation, legal entities from third countries non-associated to the Programme can be eligible in Erasmus+ actions in duly justified cases and in the Union interest (hereafter called “third countries not associated to the Programme”).

EU Member States and third countries associated to the Programme

The following countries can fully take part in all the Actions of the Erasmus+ Programme:

Member States of the European Union (EU):

  • Belgium,
  • Bulgaria,
  • Czechia,
  • Denmark,
  • Germany,
  • Estonia,
  • Ireland,
  • Greece,
  • Spain,
  • France,
  • Croatia,
  • Italy,
  • Cyprus,
  • Latvia,
  • Lithuania,
  • Luxembourg,
  • Hungary,
  • Malta,
  • Netherlands,
  • Austria,
  • Poland,
  • Portugal,
  • Romania,
  • Slovenia,
  • Slovakia,
  • Finland,
  • Sweden.

Third countries associated to the Programme

  • North Macedonia
  • Serbia
  • Iceland
  • Liechtenstein
  • Norway
  • Türkiye

Third countries not associated to the Programme

The following countries can take part in certain Actions of the Programme, subject to specific criteria or conditions (consult Part B of this Guide for the exact list of eligible countries for each specific action). Funding will be allocated to organisations in the countries within their territories as recognised by international law. Funding must respect any restrictions placed on EU external assistance imposed by the European Council. Applications have to be in line with the overall EU values of respect for human dignity, freedom, democracy, equality, the rule of law and respect for human rights, including the rights of persons belonging to minorities as foreseen in Article 2 of the Treaty of the European Union.

The following third countries not associated to the Programme are regrouped according to the EU’s external action instruments, namely the Neighbourhood, Development and International Cooperation – Global Europe Instrument (NDICI-Global Europe)  and the Instrument for Pre-Accession Assistance (IPA III).

Western Balkans (Region 1)

Albania; Bosnia and Herzegovina; Kosovo; Montenegro

Neighbourhood East (Region 2)

Armenia; Azerbaijan; Belarus; Georgia; Moldova; Territory of Ukraine as recognised by international law

South-Mediterranean countries (Region 3)

Algeria; Egypt; Israel; Jordan; Lebanon; Libya; Morocco; Palestine; Syria; Tunisia

Russian Federation (Region 4)

Territory of Russia as recognised by international law

Asia (Region 5)

  • Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, China, DPR Korea, India, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Vietnam
  • High income countries and territories : Brunei, Hong Kong, Japan, Republic of Korea, Macao, Singapore and Taiwan

Central Asia (Region 6)

Afghanistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan

Middle East (Region 7)

  • Iran, Iraq, Yemen
  • High income countries: Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates

Pacific (Region 8)

  • Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu
  • High income countries: Australia, New Zealand

Sub-Saharan Africa (Region 9)

Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cabo Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Congo – Democratic Republic of the, Côte d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Eswatini, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Latin America (Region 10)

Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela

Caribbean (Region 11)

Antigua & Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent & Grenadines, Suriname and Trinidad & Tobago

US and Canada (Region 12)

United States of America, Canada

The following third countries not associated to the Programme are not covered by the External Action Instruments:

Region 13

Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, Vatican City State

Region 14

Faroe Islands, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Source: europa.eu

Erasmus+ Stories